Pause

4 07 2008

For the record, this blog is now officially on pause.

There are several reasons why I am suspending (although not necessarily quitting) My DP1:

  1. It’s out there. When I started this blog, the DP1 was an overdue enigma, a highly anticipated great idea that kept slipping its release dates. But now it’s out there, for anyone to see and buy, so the need to rattle the cage has diminished.
  2. Now that it’s out there, a lot of other web sites with a lot more resources and a lot more clout are doing a great job of reviewing and discussing the DP1, making this blog sort of redundant.
  3. Even though it’s out there, I still don’t own one. (More on that below.)

Readers of this blog probably know that I live in Canada, where there doesn’t seem to be a lot of retailers pushing the DP1. Indeed, I had to go to France in order to see one in real life, and even then it was a non-functioning display model in the FNAC store at La Defense in Paris.

When I finally picked up that DP1, tethered as it was, and with a dead battery, I wasn’t sure what to think. After all that anticipation, all that reading and writing, and there I was with a DP1 in my hand. It didn’t feel very different from my Lumix DMC-LX2, actually. About the same size and dimensions, but with a bit more heft and a build quality that seemed more “beta” than refined. I knew I was holding something quirky and special, but by then my desire to actually own one had dwindled.

I admit that I was disappointed with the various reviews of the DP1. Almost unanimously they cheered the image quality but boo’ed the camera’s slow responsiveness and retrograde interface. Truth be told, pixel-peeping image quality is not the most important thing for me. I need a camera that handles well, is quick, and responsive. After all, getting the shot on a 1/1.7 sensor is better than missing the shot on an APS-C Foveon.

I feel like a heretic in my own religion for saying that, but there it is.

There are rumours of a DP2 and even a DP3 coming soon. There are also rumours of a Lumix DMC-LX3 coming out in the autumn of this year. In the meantime, I am still a fan of the DP1, and I applaud Sigma for sticking its neck out and trying something different. But in the end it’s not really the camera for me.

I’d be really happy — over the moon, in fact — if Sigma manages to make a DP2 or DP3 that handles like a Lumix DMC-LX2 but has the image quality of (or even close to) the DP1. That would be heaven for me.

Actions

Information

7 responses

5 07 2008
DAVE ID

I don’t know about their cameras but I have one of their supposed hot shit lenses, the 18-200 with an Optical Stabilizer. Noisy as hell. Though I love it anyway because damn its good glass, but still the noise and crankiness to it. Then last week I was shopping for a macro lens. I had a Sigma and a Canon in front of me. Once again the sigma made so much noise while the Canon was silent, not even a murmur, I couldn’t even feel a vibration in my hands, I had to check if the lens was shifting at all. So I don’t know Sigma anymore.

Anticipation and high expectations often lead to disappointment also. Fraking Buddha.

20 07 2008
Blork

*Sigh* Wouldn’t you know it, I dropped my LX2 and busted the lens mechanism. Damn! The LX3 is supposed to be announced soon, but it won’t likely hit the streets for several months. In the meantime, nobody seems to be selling the LX2 anymore, and I don’t want to settle for a crappy cheapo as a stop-gap and I don’t have the liquidity at the moment to get a DP1.

What the #&*@ should I do?

25 07 2008
oluv

still wait one month, until the lx3 will be available. i think it is really worth it. and maybe you will also fall in love with the 24mm lens? who knows?

25 07 2008
Ed

Well, the LX3 was finally announced, which is great. It sounds like they’re picking up a lot of the rhetoric from the DP1. I’m really excited about the LX3 except that I wish they hadn’t changed the zoom range. 24mm is too wide for me, and I don’t want to always have to zoom when I open the camera.

With any luck, you can customize the zoom setting on startup, which would help.

24 09 2008
Dev

Well Sigma has announced a DP2. It looks like it fixes the DP1’s performance and focal length problems, but at the cost of having a 41mm narrow lens. Hopefully the DP3 will have 35 or 36 mm and something middling between F2.8 and F4.0.
41mm is too narrow, F4.0 is too slow.

24 09 2008
Ed

Yeah, I saw that announcement. Judging by the photos, it looks exactly the same as the DP1. I wonder if they intend it to be a replacement or a companion to the DP1?

I have to say though, the Lumix LX3 is totally floating my boat. They solved every single one of the problems I had with the LX2, so that’s definitely my preferred P&S camera (at least for now).

1 03 2009
DP1 Inspires LX3… Inspires DP2? « My DP1

[…] Inspires LX3… Inspires DP2? 1 03 2009 (Temporarily pressing “Play.”) I started this blog in November 2007, when — like so many others — I was keenly […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

